The inauguration of the museum of Boutros Boutros Ghali

 

In order to link the curriculum content to the real life everyday experiences, the direction of Oasis International School has offered the students a chance to attend the inauguration of the Museum of Boutros Boutros-Ghali in the Pharaonic Village on Friday, October 14th, 2016.

The diploma students were accompanied by their Arabic teachers, Dr. Bakr Ismail, Mr. Mohamed Ali and their History teacher, Mr. Christian Cornec.

Students were able to link the first unit of the Arabic literature program to the work that Mr. Boutros Boutros-Ghali had achieved when he held the position of Secretary General

of the UN council; it is the same for the History curriculum since a unit of the program focuses on Egypt from 1952 to 2000.

Also, the students interactively participated in the event and met with famous personalities like Dr. Fayza Abu Elnaga who was impressed by the participation of students and

encouraged them to participate in similar events in the future. The students also met Mrs. Giham El Saddat who expressed her admiration of the students' participation and

their love of the country and encouraged them to continue to be honorable examples of their country; the students presented her an official invitation to participate in OISMUN.

The students' encounter with Mr. Mostafa El Fekki, who occupied the position of secretary general of the foreign policy council, was very productive.

Similarly, a group of C4 students participated in the event. They became familiar with the examples that have played a crucial role in the foreign policy of Egypt, like Mr. Boutros Boutros Ghaly. The students met many politicians and discussed with them several important topics; these fruitful discussions have even caught the attention of the participants present. The students enjoyed the event. They even participated in television interviews. The TV channel "Al Kanah Al Oula", recorded interviews with Dr. Bakr Ismail and Mr.Mohamed Ali in which they discussed the role of the teacher in building the student's personality and in developing it as well as the positive effect that Egyptians role models, like Mr. Boutros Boutros-Ghali, have on their lives.

The children's time management project

 

As you know, the welfare of our students is our target so we are preparing them for their future to become responsible independent learners. Last year, we have implemented the first phase of "the children's time landscaping" project. Thus we have the pleasure to announce that we are moving now to the second phase of this project. Our goal is to develop the following point in our students: - Collaboration skills, autonomy, and working together to achieve a goal (arranging and cleaning the class) - Teach them the importance of good manners and a balanced diet. - The interaction between students and teachers, based on respect, courtesy and open-mindedness. Throughout this period, we will keep you regularly informed of the progress of this project

Visit of the ambassador of Mexico

 

Monday, October 10th , we were visited by His Excellency José Luis Tripp, Ambassador of Mexico. He visited the school, talked with some teachers. He also gave a special mini-conference to students from the three programs. The most courageous student asked questions in Spanish! This visit has not been just a courtesy visit, but students will do an art project with Mexican artists to make a fresco in a few weeks. What a beautiful meeting!

5th Francophonie forum

 

The 5th forum of Francophonie took place on 25th and 26th March 2016 in the presence at the opening of her Excellency, Mrs. Lea Boutros Boutros-Ghali, his Highness Princess Broncovan, His Excellency Ambassador Mr. Mokhles Kotb, and Mrs. Esmat Lamei, Executive Director of the Oasis International School. D1 students organized the event from the perspective of the Theory of Knowledge paying tribute this year to the action of one of the greatest politicians of our times, His Excellency the late Mr. Boutros Boutros-Ghali that our school has had many honor and privilege to receive and meet our students.

 

At fruitful exchanges and very rewarding, including Class D1, C5, C4 and C3, the students studied the issues of TOK around the theme of internationalism and the construction of identity, trying to answer questions type:

 

- To what extent political action reconciles the legislative framework with ethical principles?

- How the contrary, the construction of identity is part of a universal approach?

- How Art, science, culture involved in both the construction of identity and openness to the world?

- What linguistic hegemony?

 

Represented by five committees, culture, art, language, History and science, offer themes that allow a community to become aware of their identity and raise the question of its relation to the context international.

 

The diploma students, who have intelligently, modesty and rigor in the organization of meetings of different working committees to support the awakening of MYP students in methods of TOK to reflect on issues that for years already rich animated discussions among their elders. The MYP students who had the courage and curiosity to tackle seriously and enthusiasm of the questions, though sometimes confusing, were able to create interest and stimulate reflection, listening and dialogue.

 

The forum was a great success and we thank all participants for their work.

The Model Arab League

 

D1 students organized the 4th Annual Conference of the Arab League Model on February 12th and February 13th 2016, at Oasis International School. This conference was held under the supervision of the secretariat, Nada Gabr, Malak Emad and Youssef Ragai.

The students were distributed among five different committees, such as the Summit Committee, the Economic and Social Committee, the Arab Foreign Affairs Committee, the Arab internal affairs Committee and the justice Committee each covering different topics.

It is in this context that the opening ceremony was set up on Friday February 12th 2016, in the presence of the General Director of the Oasis International School, Mrs. Esmat El Lamei, Mr. Essam Sharaf, the former Egyptian Prime Minister, Dr. Laila Eskandar, the former Environment Minister and Dr Mohamed Abou El Ghar, the Head of the Egyptian Democratic Party.

The sessions have started from day one with great enthusiasm. During the conference, the five committees have come up with outstanding resolutions, as a result of the various discussions.

This experience closed with an unforgettable and truly touching closing ceremony. We were honored by the visit of Mr. Amr Jowaily, Assistant of the Foreign Minister of the United Nations.

Participation in Thimun 2016

 

A group of 23 D1 students traveled from January 23rd to January 31st 2016 to attend a United Nations Model conference. The THIMUN conference (The Hague International Model United Nations) is a five-day simulation of the United Nations aimed at high school students. THIMUN annually attracts over 3,500 students from 200 schools located in countries as far apart as Norway, Australia, China and Ecuador. In addition the students themselves come from 100 different countries.

 

The Hague, city of peace and justice, is closely associated with the United Nations. It is the seat of the International Court of Justice (ICJ), the International Criminal Court (ICC), the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia and the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW). Moreover, The Hague is the seat of the Dutch government and many national institutions as well as the European Union.

 

This conference was held at the Word Forum Center of The Hague. During the latter, our students had the opportunity to represent two delegations namely Malawi and Switzerland in various committees such as the General Assembly, the human rights committee, the environment committee, the disarmament committee, the economic and social committee and finally the special conference committee. During their work sessions, our students have shared their ideas on various topics regarding the theme of sustainable urbanization for sustainable development. After a day of work entirely dedicated to the sharing of ideas, the real work of the delegates was able to start. Thus, they debated and exchanged ideas in order to produce effective, clear and realistic resolutions.

 

Of course during their stay in the Netherlands, our students have had the opportunity to visit the cities of The Hague and Amsterdam. They were able to visit one of the largest museums of the world, the Rijksmuseum. This state museum houses an unrivaled collection of paintings, cultural objects and prints from the 16th to the 19th century. During their stay, our students were also able to take a cruise in the canals of Amsterdam which enabled them to discover a different side of the city. They have also visited the Madame Tussauds Scenerama located in Amsterdam, a wax museum established in 1970 in the Dutch capital. Another unforgettable moment was the meeting with His Excellency Taher Ahmed Farahat, the Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Ambassador of Egypt in the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

 

The discussion was very interesting, his Excellency has first explained what his work consisted of,  then he described his academic path and encouraged our students to follow in this path in order to be able to work one day in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. His Excellency also insisted on the importance of the cultural identity and his pride, as an Egyptian citizen, in promoting his country.

 

In our cultural visits to The Hague, we had the honor and privilege of visiting the Peace Palace of The Hague. This palace was created as a result of the ideals of pacifism and universal peace, which had an unparalleled popularity in the late 19th century. When the Peace Palace was completed in 1913, it reflected the magnitude of the ideas it embodied.

 

The palace is the result of the cooperation between several countries. During the visit, we had the chance to see the contributions of each country in it such as some architecture elements and interior decoration elements. The Peace Palace houses the International Court of Justice, the Permanent Court of Arbitration, the Peace Palace library and The Hague School of International Law. The visit allowed us to discover this legendary building construction in every detail thanks to one of our former students working there, Rana Hatata. Rana has graduated from Oasis International School in 2007 and then continued her law studies in Canada and the United States. Last September, she got a job allowing her to work for the international arbitration court. As a former student of the school, Rana did not fail to emphasize the importance of work, as well as the importance of the good command of languages including Arabic for an international career. Our students were very moved by this encounter and they took the opportunity to ask Rana Hatata many questions.

Adventure Learning space in the KG school

 

It is with great enthusiasm that our Kindergarten students inaugurated our space dedicated to practice adventure learning.
Each class can thus, according to a schedule prepared by the teachers, go several times in this space for diverse practices: water games, sandpit, gardening, arts and craft, construction of shelters, free spaces,... It is with particular attention that we will report, over weeks, realized activities... Good way to new innovative practices !

Award Ceremony

 

We were pleased to celebrate the success of our students during the evening of Award Ceremony which took place on Saturday 4th of June on the school campus. On this occasion, students were awarded for their achievements in different areas: Languages, Arts, Mathematics, Sports, Music, etc ...

 

Congratulations to them all !!!

Visit of the Japanese embassy

 

A lot of progress has been made in a short time. The P4 students learn to be organized and they understand the importance of eating in class calmly. They received the visit of the Japanese embassy, they encouraged students to continue their efforts and assured that the organization of the student is similar to their method. P4 can be proud of themselves because it is a good proof of their responsibility. Yasmine told us: "The Japanese method is a good example because they are very disciplined people. We can follow their example.”

OISMUN 2016

 

It is our distinct honour to inform you that the ninth annual session of the Oasis International School Model United Nations (OISMUN) will be held from November 6th to November 9th, 2016.

 

 Since its foundation in 2008, OISMUN, being the only bilingual Model United Nations conference in Egypt with both English and French committees, has strived to constantly progress and innovate in the conference. Hence, the recent addition of two sub-commissions for the Economic and Social Council being Status of Women for Sub-commission 1 and Science and Technology for Sub-commission 2. Moreover, this year’s Special Conference will be a French simulation of the “G20”.

 

We are proud to announce that OISMUN has been granted affiliation in January 2016 by the largest MUN foundation “The Hague Model United Nations” (THIMUN), making OISMUN the first bilingual THIMUN affiliated conference in Egypt.

 

OISMUN’s slogan being “Walk the talk: Pave the way”, reflects on the international community’s approach towards important issues occurring in our everyday life. Our students have become habituated to speeches, promises and agreements, yet backing down on action. This year’s conference aims to encourage its participants to take action. In order to do so, this year’s theme is “Striving to develop reliable, sustainable, innovative and qualified infrastructure”. Thus, the students will have to accentuate the importance of paving the way to a brighter future. In order to solve the major issues present in the world, they must start by building our nations properly and cohesively. This is therefore their aim by choosing this theme. Moreover, for these goals to become a reality, it is indispensable for them to have these aforementioned qualities. Therefore, goals should be realistic as well as sustainable, innovative and qualified.

 

Project between the Mexican embassy and the school

 

As part of a project between the Mexican Embassy and the school, D1’s students, Amina El Beshry, Jessica Rami and Youssef Charaf, accompanied by Mrs. Marianne, our Arts teachers, participated in an intercultural project with Mexican artists on Thursday, December 2016 ,8. Mythological colors, lines, shapes and symbols unique to the history of Mexico and Egypt merge together to form a magnificent fresco on the banks of the Nile.

L'inauguration du musée de Boutros Ghali

 

Afin de lier le contenu du programme scolaire avec les expériences de la vie courante, la direction de l’École Oasis Internationale a offert la chance aux élèves d'assister à l'inauguration du musée de Boutros Boutros Ghali au village pharaonique le vendredi 14 octobre 2016. Les élèves du diplôme ont été accompagnés par leurs professeurs d'Arabe,

Dr Bakr Ismail, M. Mohamed Ali et leur professeur d'Histoire, M. Christian Cornec. Les élèves ont pu lier la première unité du programme de littérature d’Arabe avec les travaux

que M. Boutros Boutros Ghali avait entrepris lorsqu'il occupait le poste de Secrétaire Général du Conseil des Nations Unies. Il en est de même pour le programme d’Histoire puisqu’une unité du programme porte sur l’Égypte de 1952 à 2000.

De même, ils ont participé interactivement à l’événement et ont rencontré des personnalités comme Dr Fayza Abou Elnaga qui a été impressionnée par la participation des élèves et les a encouragés à participer à des événements de même nature dans le futur.

Les élèves ont rencontré également Mme Giham El Saddat qui a exprimé son admiration la participation des élèves ainsi que pour leur amour de la patrie et les a encouragés à continuer à être des exemples honorables pour leur pays; les élèves lui ont offert une invitation officielle afin de participer à OISMUN. La rencontre des élèves avec M. Mostafa El Fekki, qui occupait la position de Secrétaire Général du Conseil de la politique étrangère était également fructueuse. Un groupe d'élèves de C4 a aussi participé à l’événement. Ils se sont familiarisés aux exemples qui ont joué un rôle crucial dans la politique étrangère de L’Égypte, comme M. Boutros Boutros Ghaly. Les élèves ont rencontré de nombreuses personnalités politiques et ont discuté avec eux de plusieurs sujets importants; ces riches discussions ont même attiré l'attention des participants présents.

Les élèves ont bien profité de cet événement. Ils ont même participé à des interviews télévisées. La chaîne télévisée, "Al Kana Al Oula", a enregistré des interviews avec Dr. Bakr Ismail et M. Mohamed Ali dans lesquelles ils ont discuté du rôle du professeur dans la construction de la personnalité de l'étudiant et le développement de leur personnalité ainsi que l'effet positif que possèdent des modèles égyptiens, comme M. Boutros Boutros Ghali sur leur vie.

 

Projet d'aménagement du temps de l'enfant

 

Comme vous le savez, le bien être de nos élèves est pour nous essentiel tout comme le fait de les préparer pour leur avenir, en devenant des apprenants responsables et autonomes. La première phase du projet d'Aménagement du Temps de l'Enfant a été mis en place depuis l'an passé. Nous avons maintenant le plaisir de vous informer que nous passons désormais à la deuxième phase de ce projet. Notre objectif est de développer chez nos élèves : - leurs compétences de collaboration, d'autonomie et de prise d'initiatives en travaillant ensemble afin d'atteindre un objectif (rangement et nettoyage de la classe), - leurs savoirs faire et leurs savoir être en insistant sur l'importance des bonnes manières et d'une alimentation équilibrée. - l'interaction entre élèves et également entre élèves et enseignants, basée sur le respect, la courtoisie et l'ouverture d'esprit. Durant toute cette période, nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés de l'avancement de ce projet.

Visite de l'ambassadeur du Mexique

 

Lundi 10 octobre, nous recevions la visite de son Excellence José Luis Tripp, Ambassadeur du Mexique. Il a pu ainsi, non seulement visiter notre établissement, mais s'entretenir avec certains professeurs et surtout il a animé une mini-conférence avec des élèves des trois programmes. Les plus téméraires ont posé les questions en espagnol! Cette visite, n'était pas seulement une visite de courtoisie, mais porteuse d'un projet artistique qui permettra à nos élèves de travailler avec des artistes mexicains autour de la réalisation d'une fresque, dans quelques semaines. Belle rencontre en perspective !

5ème forum de la francophonie

 

Le 5ème forum de la francophonie s’est déroulé les 25 et 26 Mars 2016 en présence à l’ouverture de son Excellence, Mme Léa Boutros Boutros Ghali, son Altesse la princesse de Broncovan, son excellence l’ambassadeur M. Mokhles Kotb, et Mme Esmat Lamei, directrice générale de l’Ecole Oasis Internationale. Les élèves de D1 ont organisé l’évènement sous la perspective de la Théorie de la Connaissance en rendant hommage cette année à l’action d’un des plus grands hommes politiques de l’époque contemporaine, son Excellence le regretté M. Boutros Boutros Ghali, que notre Ecole a eu maintes fois l’honneur et le privilège de recevoir et nos élèves de rencontrer.

 

Lors d’échanges fructueux et très enrichissants, incluant les classes de D1, C5, C4 et C3, les élèves ont étudié des problématiques TDC autour du thème de l’Internationalisme et la construction de l’Identité, en tentant de répondre à des questions du type :

 

  • Dans quelle mesure l’action politique permet de concilier le cadre législatif avec les principes éthiques ?
  • Comment au contraire, la construction de l’identité s’inscrit dans une démarche universelle ?
  • Comment l’Art, les sciences, la culture participent à la fois à la construction de l’identité et à l’ouverture sur le monde ?
  • Qu’est ce que l’hégémonie linguistique ?

 

Représentés par cinq comités, la culture, l’art, le langage, l’Histoire et les sciences, proposent des thématiques qui permettent à une communauté de prendre conscience de son identité et qui posent la question du rapport qu’elle entretient avec le contexte international.

 

Les élèves du diplôme, qui ont su avec intelligence, modestie et rigueur, lors des séances d’organisation du travail des différents comités, prendre en charge l’éveil des élèves du PEI aux méthodes de la TDC pour réfléchir aux problématiques qui depuis des années déjà ont animé de riches débats auprès de leurs ainés. Les élèves du PEI qui ont eu l’audace et la curiosité d’aborder avec sérieux et enthousiasme des questions qui, bien que parfois déroutantes, ont su éveiller leur intérêt et susciter réflexion, écoute, et dialogue.

 

Le forum fut un véritable succès et nous remercions tous les participants de leur travail.

Modèle de la Ligue Arabe

 

Les élèves de la promotion de D1 ont organisé la 4ème conférence annuelle du Modèle de la Ligue Arabe du 12 au 13 février 2016, à l’Ecole Oasis Internationale. Cette conférence a eu lieu sous la supervision du Secrétariat, Nada Gabr, Malak Emad et Youssef Ragai.

Cette conférence proposait cinq comités différents : le comité du sommet, le comité économique et social, le comité des affaires étrangères arabes, le comité des affaires intérieures arabes et le comité de justice, chacun traitant differents sujets.

La cérémonie d’ouverture qui a eu lieu le vendredi 12 février 2016, s’est déroulée en présence de la Directrice Générale de l’Ecole Oasis Internationale, Mme Esmat El Lamei, M. Essam Sharaf, ancien Premier Ministre Egyptien, Dr. Laila Eskandar, ancienne Ministre de l’Environnement et Dr. Mohamed Abou El Ghar, Chef du Parti Démocratique Egyptien.

Les sessions ont démarré dès le premier jour avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme Pendant la conférence, les cinq comités ont fait sortir des résolutions innovantes, fruit de leurs débats.

Cette expérience s’est achevée avec une cérémonie de clôture inoubliable et touchante, durant laquelle nous avons eu l’honneur de recevoir M. Amr Jowaily, Assistant du Ministre des Affaires Etrangères auprès des Nations Unies.

Participation à Thimun 2016

 

Un groupe composé de 23 élèves de D1 a voyagé du 23 janvier au 31 janvier 2016 afin de participer à une conférence Modèle des Nations Unies. La conférence (The Hague international Model United Nations) THIMUN est une simulation sur cinq jours de l'Organisation des Nations Unies s’adressant aux élèves du secondaire. THIMUN attire chaque année plus de 3500 étudiants et provenant  de 200 écoles  situées dans des pays aussi éloignés que la Norvège, l’Australie, la Chine et l’Equateur. De plus les étudiants proviennent eux-mêmes de 100 pays différents.

 

La Haye, ville de la paix et de la justice, est étroitement associé à l'Organisation des Nations Unies. Il est le siège de la Cour internationale de Justice (CIJ), la Cour pénale internationale (CPI), le Tribunal pénal international pour l'ex-Yougoslavie et l'Organisation pour l'interdiction des armes chimiques (OIAC). En outre, La Haye est le siège du gouvernement néerlandais et de nombreuses institutions nationales et de l'Union européenne.

 

Cette conférence avait lieu au Word Forum Center de La Haye. Durant cette dernière, nos élèves ont eu la chance de représenter deux délégations à savoir le Malawi et la Suisse dans différentes commissions dont l’Assemblée Générale, les droits de l’Homme, l’environnement, le désarmement, ainsi que le comité économique et social et finalement la conférence spéciale. Durant leurs sessions de travail, nos élèves ont  mis en commun leurs idées sur différents sujets ayant pour thème l’urbanisation  durable pour un développement durable. Suite à une journée de travail entièrement consacrée à la mise en commun, le vrai travail des délégués a pu commencer, ainsi ils ont été amenés à débattre et à échangé leurs idées afin de produire des résolutions efficaces et claires et réalistes.

Bien entendu durant leur séjour aux Pays-Bas, nos élèves ont pu profiter pour visiter les villes de La Haye et d’Amsterdam. Ils ont ainsi pu visiter un des plus grands musées au monde le Rijkmuseum. Ce musée d’Etat renferme  une collection inégalée de peinture, d’objets culturelles et  d’estampes courant du 16eme au 19eme siècle. Durant leur séjour nos élèves ont aussi pu faire une croisière sur les canaux d’Amsterdam ce qui leur a permis de découvrir différemment la ville. Ils ont également visité le scenerama de Madame Tussauds d'Amsterdam, un musée de cire ouvert en 1970 dans la capitale néerlandaise. Un autre moment inoubliable fut la rencontre avec son excellence Taher Ahmed Farahat  Ambassadeur extraordinaire et plénipotentiaire d’Egypte auprès du Royaume des Pays-Bas. La discussion fut très intéressante, son excellence a  tout d’abord expliqué en quoi consistait son travail, puis il a tenu à préciser son parcours universitaire et encourager nos élèves à suivre cette voie afin de pouvoir un jour travailler au sein du ministère des affaires étrangères. Son Excellence a également tenu à revenir sur l’importance de l’identité culturelle et de sa fierté en tant qu’Egyptien de promouvoir son pays.

 

Lors de nos visites culturelles à La Haye, nous avons eu l’honneur et le privilège de visiter le Palais de la Paix de La Haye. Ce dernier est né des idéaux de pacifisme et de paix universelle, qui connurent un engouement inégalé à la fin du 19e siècle. Quand le palais de la Paix fut terminé en 1913, il reflétait toute la grandeur de l'idéal qu'il incarnait.

 

Le palais est le fruit d'une coopération entre plusieurs pays. Lors de la visite, nous avons eu la chance de voir  les contributions de chacun de ces pays dans le  palais comme des éléments d'architecture et de la décoration intérieure. Le Palais de la Paix abrite toujours la Cour Internationale de Justice, la Cour Permanente d'Arbitrage, la bibliothèque du Palais de la Paix, ainsi que École de droit international de La Haye. La visite nous a permis de découvrir cette construction mythique dans ses moindres détails grâce a une de nos anciennes élèves y travaillant. Rana Hatata a obtenu son diplôme en 2007 et a ensuite poursuivi ses études de droits au Canada et aux Etats-Unis. En septembre dernier, elle a obtenu un poste lui permettant de travailler pour la cours internationale d’arbitrage. Bien entendu en tant qu’ancienne élève de l’école, Rana n’a pas manqué d’insister sur l’importance du travail, et surtout de la bonne maitrise des langues et notamment de l’arabe pour une carrière internationale. Nos élèves ont été très touchés par cette rencontre et ils en ont profité pour poser de nombreuses questions à Rana Hatata.

 

Espace hors les murs à la maternelle

 

C'est avec beaucoup d'enthousiasme que nos élèves de la Maternelle ont inauguré notre espace dédié aux pratiques hors les murs. Chaque classe peut ainsi, en fonction d'un emploi du temps préparé par les professeurs, se rendre plusieurs fois dans cet espace pour des pratiques diversifiées : jeux d'eau, Bac à sable, jardinage, bricolage, construction d'abris, espaces libres, ... Ce sera avec une attention particulière que nous rendrons compte, au fil des semaines, des activités réalisées... Bonne route pour de nouvelles pratiques innovantes !

Soirée de récompenses

 

Nous avons eu le plaisir de célébrer le succès de nos élèves lors de la soirée des récompenses qui a eu lieu le samedi 4 juin dernier, sur le campus de l'école. A cette occasion, les élèves ont été récompensés pour leurs accomplissements dans différents domaines : langues, arts, mathématiques, sports, musique, etc...

 

Félicitations à eux tous !!!

Visite de l'ambassade du Japon

 

Que de progrès parcourus en peu de temps...les P4 apprennent à être organisés et comprennent l'importance de manger en classe au calme. Ils sont reçus la visite de l’ambassade du Japon . Ces derniers ont encouragé les élèves à poursuivre leurs efforts et ont confié que l'organisation était similaire à leur méthode. Les P4 peuvent être fiers d'eux -mêmes car c'est une belle preuve de leur responsabilisation. Yasmine nous dira : " La méthode japonaise est un bon exemple car ce sont des gens très disciplinés. On peut suivre leur exemple."

OISMUN 2016

 

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous tenons à vous informer la tenue de notre neuvième session annuelle du Modèle des Nations Unies de l’Ecole Oasis Internationale (OISMUN) qui s’est déroulée du 6 novembre au 9 novembre 2016.

 

Depuis son inauguration en 2008, OISMUN, seule conférence bilingue du Modèle des Nations Unies en Égypte comportant des comités anglophones et francophones, aspire à progresser constamment et à innover. C’est dans ce but que nous avons ajouté récemment deux sous-commissions pour le conseil Economique et Social. La première sous-commission concerne le statut des femmes et la seconde la science et la technologie pour le développement.

 

De plus, la Conférence Spéciale de cette année était une simulation francophone du G20.

 

Nous sommes également ravis d’annoncer qu’OISMUN a obtenu l’affiliation auprès de la fondation la plus grande du Modèle des Nations Unis « The Hague Model United Nations » (THIMUN) en janvier 2016, faisant d’OISMUN la première conférence bilingue affiliée par THIMUN en Egypte.

 

Le slogan d’OISMUN : «Agissons : Donnons l'exemple», reflète l’approche de la communauté internationale vis-à-vis des questions importantes d’actualité. Nos élèves se sont exercés à faire des discours, des promesses et des accords ; cependant en restant inactifs par l’action. La conférence de cette année vise à encourager les participants à transformer leurs paroles en actes.

 

Pour ce faire, le thème de cette année est «Aspirer à développer une infrastructure fiable, durable, innovante et qualifiée». Ainsi, les élèves ont donc à accentué l’importance d’une planification vers un futur meilleur. Ils ont dû également commencer par résoudre les problèmes majeurs du monde actuel, pour ensuite s’engager dans la construction cohérente de nations au service de leurs communautés, tel sera leur objectif cette année. Il est indispensable que les objectifs soient non seulement réalistes mais également durables, innovants et adaptés aux contextes dans lesquels ils doivent s’inscrire.

 

La cérémonie de clôture de cette conférence s’est tenu aux pyramides en présence de Dr Jean Yaacoub Jabbour : représentant de World Health Organisation, Mme Samar Morsi : représentant des Nations Unis pour la défense des droits des femmes et Mme Soheir Zaki : ancien Ambassadeur de l’Egypte au Liban et aux Etats-unis.

 

Projet interculturel avec des artistes Mexicans

 

Quelques élèves de D1, Amina; Jessica et Youssef, accompagnés de Mme Marianne, ont participé à un projet interculturel avec des artistes mexicains. Couleurs, lignes, formes et symboles mythologiques propres à l'histoire du Mexique et celle de l'Egypte fusionnent ensemble pour former une magnifique fresque sur les rives du Nil. Une journée riche en échanges et partages des savoirs... Quand l'art permet aux cultures et univers si différents de se rencontrer !